Posted by: Psal121 | September 1, 2012

Journey 36

You cannot stop the providence of God. No matter what precautions you take, preparations you make, or short cuts you forsake. What God has planned will come to pass.

This week I ran into His providence and I was left speechless.

We were having a pool party to celebrate the end of Band Camp. It was our first one. We were excited about becoming part of the band family. A student drowned.  Our celebration turn to tragedy. Students, parents, teachers were left wondering, what was God doing? I pray that He will give everyone a measure of peace beyond their understanding.

When I don’t understand what I see happening around me, I go back to what I know to be true about God.

…that He loves me so much He sent His Son as a sacrifice for my sins so that we can have a relationship. (John 3:16)

…that unlike everything on this earth that will pass away, He is everlasting (Nehemiah 9:5)

…that He is trustworthy. (John 14:1)

The year 2012 has been full of events that have made me question what God was doing. And many times, I have not liked God’s choice, but there has been learning in it for me. Some bibles verses come alive as you live them.  (Even if they are one of the verses you thought, naw, that is not one I want to experience.)

We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. (2 Corinthians 4:8-9) This verse tells me that there will be hard things, but they won’t get the best of me.

If we are still breathing, then there is still work to be done.  I pray that when you are hard pressed on every side, that you will know that you won’t be crushed if you are in Christ.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

