Posted by: Psal121 | July 25, 2012

The Playa Got Played

Chapter 29

Jacob tricked Esau; Jacob got the birthright. When he left to go live with his uncle, Jacob was not repentant.  He was just running for his life. Jacob was about to run up against something he had not encountered before. Someone who could out smart him.

Laban tricked Jacob; Laban got rid of two daughters. Jacob wanted Rachel, but got Leah and Rachel.  Jacob spent the rest of his life listening to these women complain about him not loving them enough. Jacob got played.

What goes around, comes around, and pays back double.

Even though Jacob was a trickster, God blessed him with twelve sons.  You might not be what God wants you to be yet, but He will bless you along the way to getting there.  Jacob wasn’t Israel yet, but he got Reuben, Simeon, Levi and Judah along the way.

Dear Lord, thank you that I do not get what I deserved for the things I have done.  Thanks for the story of Jacob to show me that tricking people to take what I want will lead me to a miserable end.  Praise you for blessing me along the way to get where you want me to be.  Thanks for not just telling me to live holy, but you guide me on the way of righteousness for your namesake. Praise be to God Almighty.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

