Posted by: Psal121 | May 11, 2012

Learning from the Past

This morning as I was on my way to work, I saw a small yellow school bus pulled over in a parking lot, allowing a student to get on.

In my head, I immediately went back to my own school days, when we used to make fun of those short school buses. I almost thought, “I never want to ride…”

Yep, I shut down in mid thought.

I don’t even entertain what it is I will never do.  As soon as I do, the Lord opens an opportunity to show me I was wrong. I would do it, if He called me to it.

I laughed the rest of the way to work.

This is a lesson I have learned the hard way. Many times I have found myself doing the things I swore I would never do. Now, I just shut up.

This year in BSF we are finishing up the study of Acts of the Apostles.  Paul has been a great example of being called by God to serve His purpose. I am betting his ministry did not turn out like he first pictured it.    I bet he did not think that teaching God’s word to the Gentiles would lead to beatings, prison, riots, mobs, etc.

Through many of Paul’s hardship, we Christians have been blessed.  If Paul had not been to prison so many time, we would not have such great letters about the character of God.

God has called us all to a purpose in this life. We need to know that God is going to use our current struggles to bless others. We need to hold on to the confidence Paul had in what God was working out through him. He will work His good purpose out through you also.

Leave a Reply

Categories

