Posted by: Psal121 | December 31, 2011

Is my worship suppose to be comfortable?

http://platform.twitter.com/widgets/hub.1324331373.html

I was very excited about today.  So excited that I could not sleep. I was up by 6:45 and moving.

The day did not go the way I thought it would, but it was good. I got to see God do some good work.

But here is the lesson I learned.

This isn’t about me being comfortable.

After working very hard all day for no pay, I was determined to make it to church tonight to hear Kirk Franklin.  My God holds Franklin up as an example of what He can do.  I am taking this message into 2012 with me.

Shooting the last few scenes made me an hour late, but I was determined to go to church. I knew there was trouble when I turned onto Camp Wisdom and traffic was backed up almost to Hampton.  I was a little stunned at the traffic.

I found a parking spot several blocks away. It was on the way to the church when I ran into people walking the opposite direction saying that there was no room. (I thought surely they are kidding.)

When I got into the building people were standing everywhere. Folks were sitting in the foyers staring at the monitors. Would I be one of the ones who went home because there was no room? Or would I worship anyway?

Why does my worship have to be comfortable? What is my sacrifice?

It was not easy to spend two more hours on my feet, but the blessing came.

I love Franklin’s music, he is my boy! But he went old school church on us. Franklin reminded us at the end that blood would never lose its power.

So no matter what you encounter in 2012, remember that:

The blood that Jesus shed for me, way back on Calvary; the blood that gives me strength from day-to-day, it will never lose its power.
It reaches to the highest mountain, it flows to the lowest valley; the blood that gives me strength from day-to-day, it will never lose its power.
It soothes my doubts and calms my fears, and it dries all my tears; the blood that gives me strength from day-to-day, it will never lose its power.

Leave a Reply

Categories

