Posted by: Psal121 | December 27, 2011

Put it on, Take it off

I had the best laugh with my sister this afternoon.

She was telling me about watching Karate Kid with Jackie Chan and Jaden Smith.  She said the Holy Spirit spoke to her. Remember the scene where Smith has to put his jacket on, take his jacket off, put it on, take it off, on, off, on, off.

Have you ever felt like your life was like that? God has you going through a simple exercise over and over again? You keep thinking, Lord, why do I have to do this over and over again?

Just like the older character in the movie was building up the younger character’s reflexes, God is building up our reflexes. He wants us to react the way He teaches us in times of testing, not in the way of sin which is our nature.

Whenever I think I am beyond the simple exercise, I think of Nehemiah 10.  In this chapter, Israel recounts their history of how they had been unfaithful to a faith God.  When I get tired of putting the jacket on, and taking it off. I have to think of all the times, I have laid it down and went my own way. Even so, God is faithful.

So whatever your task might be: put it on, take it off, put it on, take it off.

Leave a Reply

Categories

