Posted by: Psal121 | July 30, 2011

Just Appreciate

This day didn’t go the way I planned it, but God had a plan and it all worked out fine.

I woke up at 3:34am this morning and could not fall back to sleep. I watched this movie titled Salt of the Earth about some Mexican American miners who form a labor union. It was made in 1954.  I thought it was very progressive for its time.

Sometime after 5am I fell asleep, and almost slept past boot camp. I made it in time to watch my team members run around the track. (really glad I was late)

Class was hard and it was hot at 7am. Boot camp kicked off my day of running errands. No, I didn’t complete the list, but it was a good day.

The best part of the day was spent with my cousin Gigi. She was braiding Hope’s hair, and all of us were watching TV and talking. We watch stuff I would never watch on my own.  It is nice to take a slice out of someone else’s life.

We watched I Shouldn’t Be Alive. I learned you don’t want to be stranded on a mountain or in the wilderness with Gigi and me being your only means of survival. You won’t make it. She and I could not agree on what needed to be done. You will probably die while we argue over whether to start a fire or tend to your wounds.

She does love fishing, so there will be food once we start the fire.  So try to survive at least until dinner.

Although she does love fishing, she will not be walking in the Pacific Ocean with me for fear of sharks, jelly fish and stingrays.  (you know I am going to pull her in that ocean with me 😉

There was great conversation and lots of laughter. We had a good time.  We even talked about our death and expectations. I told her and Hope to pour my ashes over the Grand Canyon.  To which they replied they were not going near that big hole for fear of falling in.

So if you hear of my death, and there is a cloud over Joe Pool Lake, you will know Gigi and Hope have gone fishing.

God puts people together in family groups that make life so interesting.  If we just learn to appreciate our differences.  I don’t know who you need to go visit, but go.  Don’t try to change them, Let them be who they are. Just appreciate.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

