Posted by: Psal121 | July 15, 2011

A moment of clarity

Every now and then I have a moment of clarity. I had one of those yesterday on my way home from work. (It was either clarity or the beginning of a heat stroke.)

There was a song on the radio about how God loves us.

People love us for a reason. We are related to them, we have done something for them, or in some manner we have effected their lives.

God loves us without any of those reasons.  My moment came when I began to tell myself that there is nothing I can do to earn His love.  He loves me just because and perhaps I should do the same.  My love for Him is so conditional. Too much stress and my love grows cold. My love is very human and divorce seems to always be an option if things get to sticky.

I want to love God just because. Not because He has done great things for me, but just for who He is. Needless to say, I have not arrived at that.  But it is out there, to love God no matter what.

I don’t know what it looks like. Do you? What does it look like to love God no matter what?

Leave a Reply

Categories

