Posted by: Psal121 | July 6, 2011

Mercy and Refuge

I have been reading the psalms. David knew how to express what he wanted God to know. I love me some David, and have often wanted to be more like him.

Yet as I was reading this morning, I noticed David had lots of struggles.  David’s life was filled with drama. People were trying to kill him, and trying to help other capture and kill him. It was always something.

I changed my mind. I don’t want to be like David, because I don’t want the drama.

In our Breaking Free study we have been talking about the sins you inherit from previous generations. Now, I inherited some good things from my people, but there are some things that just causes me to laugh at myself.

I was laughing with my sister this morning about it.  I have often prayed for God to hold my tongue. But I forget to ask Him to take the look off my face that tells the person to “Go Hug a Bear.” What my words don’t say, my facial expression does.

If I had been David, I would have popped Saul in his face, thus giving him a reason to kill me.

And Psalm 57:1 would not have been so beautiful:

Have mercy on me, O God, have mercy on me,

for in you my soul takes refuge.

I will take refuge in the shadow of your wings until the disaster has passed.

Do you look for mercy and refuge? Maybe we should start together.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

