Posted by: Psal121 | June 19, 2011

Happy Father’s Day & Juneteenth

Happy Father’s Day to all the Fathers. My father, James Anderson Sr., passed almost ten years ago. My life would have been very different if he had not been in my life. Thank God for fathers.

Today Pastor Evans preached about order and how God has given authority to men to be leaders of their home. He called it a creation principle.  It was a good sermon.

(I really like those tough sermons where I can say that doesn’t apply to me.)

It was one of those moments when I can say, I really like being single.  I can agree wholeheartedly with the principle of submission (which is probably why I am still single.) I submit at church and work, but the best part of me is being able to go home.

Also Happy Juneteenth everyone. This is something else that reminds me of my father. I remember when I was a kid, we would all go down to Sycamore Park in Fort Worth. The African American’s would gather there to celebrate freedom.

For those who don’t know, African-Americans in Texas celebrate the abolition of slavery in United States on June 19.  This is because the news of the Emancipation Proclamation did not reach them until June 19, 1865.

I love a culture that celebrates itself.  I hope the day is good for you regardless of what you are celebrating.

Leave a Reply

Categories

