Posted by: Psal121 | June 16, 2011

He Won’t Share

I think there will be a million people in downtown Dallas this morning. I think there will be more than the quarter of a million they are predicting. We love a victory. We have suffered through this with the Mavericks. We attended games during the season and post season. We watched every moment of the playoffs and had to suffer through those sports announcers who ONLY wanted to talk about LeBron James. We have a kinship with the team and want to share in their glory.

This is something God will not do. This is something we humans have a hard time handling. Let me confess first. The Lord has to keep His foot on my neck to keep me under control. I don’t think He will ever be able to let it up because even with His foot on my neck I still have moments where I go “See what I did!” Pride swells up in me often.

I am the Lord, that is my name!

I will not give my glory to another

or my praise to idols. (Isaiah 42:8)

Breaking Free has been good in helping me learn this lesson. Beth Moore teaches us that God’s glory is the way God helps us recognize who He is. When we take this glory it is like the ultimate identity theft, because we are saying we are God. We are saying we have His power and other characteristics that He has.

Today, I pray that God will reveal His glory to you in a way that you know He is glorious and worthy of all your praises.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

