Posted by: Psal121 | June 9, 2011

High Places

As you can tell, I have not made it through the kings of Israel and Judah because I hate watching their downfall. One of the things I never quite got was their refusal to tear down the high places. If God said tear them down, tear them down.

I never quite understood what those were. This week I think I got it, as I bumped into a few high places of my own.

Now, I have not built any poles on the property and started worshiping there. One of my high places is a buffet.  Imagine a place where there are miles and miles of food.  All types of meat prepared in many different ways. All types of vegetables and fruits. Miles and miles of bread. Woo hoo! That is where I worship.  It isn’t about gluttony. I can have a little bit of this, and a little bit of that. It is what it stands for.

Where are your high places?

One king refused to tear down the high places, the next king began worshiping there. By the time Manasseh came along, he did whatever he wanted including sacrificing his own children. As King Manasseh takes it to the extreme in 2 Chronicles 33, he finds that the Lord does not play with that type of work.  Manasseh lead his people astray and that was unacceptable.  Manasseh would not listen to God, but went his own way. 

The Lord allowed Manasseh and Israel to be captured. Manasseh was led away with a hook in his nose. (v11)

Manasseh repented.

I don’t know about you, but I really don’t want it to get to that.  I think when we think of high places, we think of sin, evil and the bad things that encompass our lives. I bet these high places were beautiful and exciting.  I bet they drew people there with all kinds of promises (and still do).

Let’s allow God to show us those high places, and knock them down.  I am going to seek to elevate God instead of my high places.  I am going to look out for other things that are high places in my life. So stop thinking of high places as a pole in the ground, and start thinking more along the lines of I am saving my money to … or I am saving my time to …

As Paul reminds us, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Heb 12:1

Leave a Reply

Categories

