Posted by: Psal121 | June 4, 2011

Take a Nap

So let me admit that I am a closet PTL (Praise The Lord) fan. I was flipping channels last night and ran across the show. Israel and New Breed were on the show. I love Israel Houghton.

After Israel and New Breed sang, they chatted with him.  Israel told the story of how his mother decided to keep the baby she was pregnant with, instead of having an abortion. Praise God for that decision because he is a mighty blessing.

As he was talking, Israel said something that stuck with me. He said God gives us strength for service.   Sometimes we want strength to do what we want to do, but God gives it to us to do His will.

When God renews our strength there is a purpose. When He doesn’t there is a purpose.

Lately I have been so exhausted. I wake up more tired than when I went to sleep. I have been to doctors who have run tests. They can not find anything physically wrong with me.  I take vitamins.  I keep thinking, “Lord, where is the strength you promised?”

Today it hit me. When God wants you to rest, He wants you to rest. If He has to lay you flat on your back to get you there, He will. (And I really don’t want it to get to that.)  I will know when my strength returns, it is time for me to do the things He has laid before me. Until then, I’m learning to rest. Planning my naps.

Has God given you strength to move mountains? Then move them. Has God placed you in a time of rest? Then settle in and find your rest.  There will be many things around you that need to be done, but rest assured that the God who created the sun and the stars can find some folks to get those things done. Take a break.

Leave a Reply

Categories

