Posted by: Psal121 | May 20, 2011

Advice

I am at a time in my life where I am making decisions that I have never made before.  Normally when I get to a point like this, I like to ask advice from other people who have been in similar situations. I like to learn from other people’s mistakes or successes.

The overwhelming message I hear from God is “Just trust me. You don’t need to hear from anyone else, just listen to me.”

This is very uncomfortable.

At a very difficult time in his life, a young ruler, Hanun chose to listen to his noblemen. These men lead him down a very dangerous path.  They told Hanun that the men King David had sent to show sympathy for his father’s death, were really spies who were planning to overthrow his kingdom.

According to 2 Samuel 10, the young ruler seized the men and humiliated them by shaving their beards and cutting up their clothes. The result of this was a battle that brought King David and all of Israel against the Ammonites.

Not all advice is bad, but you need to hold it up against a measuring rod, the Bible. I am learning to trust the Lord day by day.  I have to listen to Him, and not the world around me. The best way I have found to do that is to stay in His Word daily.

Listen to God. He is telling you what to do.

Leave a Reply

Categories

